OLMSTED COUNTY PROPERTY RECORDS/LICENSING ADMINISTRATIVE POLICY FIREWORKS PERMIT MN STATUTE 624.20-624.25 Effective August 1, 2014

Purpose

To ensure complete and accurate assessment of an application for a permit for outdoor public fireworks display.

When the outdoor fireworks display is to be held outside the limits of an incorporated municipality, the application must be made to the County Auditor, located within Olmsted County Property Records and Licensing – Vital Records and Licensing Office.

Policy

MINNESOTA STATE LAW REQUIRES THAT ALL DISPLAYS BE CONDUCTED UNDER THE DIRECT SUPERVISON OF A PYROTECHNIC OPERATOR CERTIFIED BY THE STATE FIRE MARSHALL.

The applicant must demonstrate compliance with all of the requirements for issuance of a permit at the time of submission of the application to Olmsted County Vital Records and Licensing office. All completed applications must be submitted **15 days** prior to the date of the event in order to insure thorough and timely review.

Documentation Requirements:

- 1. Completed Application for Display of Fireworks/Pyrotechnic Special Effects.
- 2. The application must be accompanied by:
 - (a) Payment of the current license fee as established by resolution of the Olmsted County Board of Commissioners
 - (b) Required proof of certificate of insurance in an amount not less than \$500,000.00 for each claim arising out of a single occurrence and a total of \$1,500,000 for multiple claims arising out of a single occurrence showing the County of Olmsted as an additional insured
 - (c) Diagram of the grounds or facilities of the event
- 3. Applications must be typed; no white out, strike through or cross outs allowed. (Vital Records and Licensing staff will be available to assist with preparation of a typed application)
- 4. A separate application is required for each outdoor fireworks display proposed by the applicant.
- 5. All applications require a copy of the current Minnesota business license certified by the secretary of state pursuant to MS Chapter 302.A.

County as Licensing Authority; approval process

- 1. Verify application information as provided. Incomplete applications will be returned to the applicant and will not be eligible for approval unless a completed application is submitted at least 15 days in advance of the fireworks display.
- 2. The Olmsted County Sheriff and the relevant Vital Records and Licensing staff must approve the application prior to issuing a permit.
- 3. Vital Records and licensing office will Issue permit if it meets all permit criteria. Additional details about the permit requirements can be found in Minnesota Statutes Section 624.20-624.25.
- 4. Retain original documents per record retention schedule.

Denial of Permit

Reasons why a permit application may be denied may include, but are not limited to the following reasons:

- 1. Application to incorrect jurisdiction
- 2. Previous violations: list violation information

Suspension, Revocation or Refusal to Renew Permit Certification

The procedures to suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew a fireworks display permit is set forth in Minnesota Statutes Section 624.22, Subd. 8 and the County will assist the State Fire Marshal with this process as requested.

Reports Required

Reasons why a report may be required to submit to Olmsted County Vital Records and Licensing

The certified operator shall provide a copy of the written report submitted to the state fire marshal in accordance with MS 624.22, Subd.6. if the following occurred:

- 1. An injury to any person resulting from the display of fireworks; or
- 2. A fire or damage to property resulting from the display of fireworks

Exemptions for Licenses or Permit Holders

- 1. The holders of a federal explosives license or permit issued pursuant to United States Code, title 18, chapter 40, or their agents when the holder or agent is acting in compliance with the conditions of licensure; or
- 2. The holders of permits issued pursuant to section 624.22 or their agents, from the date of issuance until 20 days after the date of exhibition authorized by the permit, when the holder or agent is acting in compliance with the conditions of the permit and section 624.22.