

# Document Format Requirements. Please use this checklist before submitting

#### **ALL DOCUMENTS:**

- Date document
- Enter Grantor(s) must include their marital status
- Enter Grantee(s)
- Legal description must be full legal description from most recent deed not from tax system
- Notary
  - Signature
  - o Seal
  - Notary commission expiration date
  - o Names & marital status of all who are being acknowledged
  - o If corporate business name, name and title of who is signing
- "Drafted by" statement
  - o Name and address of person or business who created this document
- · White out is not acceptable on any legal documents
- Include any exhibits when applicable
- Filing Fees
  - o Include separate check for each type of fee

## **Transfer Deeds:**

- State Deed Tax (Purchase price x .0033). Include a separate check payable to Olmsted County PRL.
- Complete an Electronic Certificate of Real Estate Value (ECRV)
- Include the following information on the bottom right of the last page of the document. "Send Tax Statement to:" Name and Address
- For all sales \$3000.00 or less, include the following statement on the document. "Total consideration is less than \$3,000.00. For these documents, the deed tax is \$1.65
- Complete a <u>Well Certificate</u> or <u>E-Well Certificate</u> when necessary or include one of the following statements as applicable.
  - 1. "The seller certifies that the seller does not know of any wells on the described real property." Or
  - o 2. "I am familiar with the property described in this instrument and I certify that the status and the number of wells on the described real property have not changed since the last previously filed well disclosure certificate."
- Complete a Subsurface Sewage Treatment Systems (SSTS) Compliance Inspection form if required.

#### Mortgages:

 Mortgage Registry Tax – (Mortgage amount x .0023). Include a separate check payable to Olmsted County PRL.

508C March 10, 2020 Page 1 of 2

## Miscellaneous Documents:

- Corrective Document This is a new document.
  - o Include a statement explaining what has been corrected on document
  - Must have new signatures and new acknowledgment
  - o Include new recording fee and \$1.65 Deed Tax for any transfer documents.
- Re-recorded Documents
  - Include original document with a cover sheet explaining why it is being re-recorded.
  - o Include new recording fee

# Please review Minnesota statutory documents standards below.

Minnesota Statutes 507.093. Standards for documents to be recorded or filed (In Part)

- a) The following standards are imposed on documents to be recorded with the County Recorder or Registrar of Titles:
- 1. The document shall consist of one or more individual sheets measuring no larger than 8.5 inches by 14 inches.
- 2. The form of the document shall be printed, typewritten, or computer generated in black ink and the form of the document shall not be smaller than 8-point type.
- 3. The document shall be on white paper of not less than 20-pound weight with no background color or images and, except for the first page, shall have a border of at least one-half inch on the top, bottom and each side.
- 4. The first page of the document shall contain a blank space at the top measuring three inches, as measured from the top of the page, and a border of one-half inch on each side and the bottom. The right half of the blank space shall be reserved for recording information and the left half shall be reserved for tax certification. Any person may attach an administrative page before the first page of the document to accommodate this standard. The administrative page may contain the document title, document date, and, if applicable, the grantor and grantee, and shall be deemed part of the document when recorded.
- 5. The title of the document shall be prominently displayed at the top of the first page below the blank space referred to in clause (4) or on the administrative page.
- 6. No additional sheet shall be attached or affixed to a page that covers up any information or printed part of the form.
- 7. A document presented for recording must be sufficiently legible to reproduce a readable copy using the County Recorder's or Registrar of Title's current method of reproduction.

508C March 10, 2020 Page 2 of 2