

Department Originating Policy:

Family Support and Assistance

Department Contact:

Ruth Olson 507-328-6405

Effective Date:

Policy: September 20, 2021. Allowances: January 1, 2021.

Last Revision Date:

September 09, 2022

Olmsted County Health, Housing and Human Services (HHH) Burial Policy

Purpose

The purpose of this policy is to establish burial costs paid by the County under the Minnesota Family Investment Program and Minnesota Poor Relief Law.

Policy Statement

Under Minnesota Statutes, when a person dies without adequate resources to cover

the cost of the final disposition, the county is required to assist.

Policy / Procedures

Policies pertaining to burials are at the discretion of the County Board to the extent that they do not conflict with special provisions in state law or regulations for MFIP burials. A burial is considered a MFIP burial if the deceased was a recipient of MFIP at the time of death. Otherwise, the burial is a County Poor Relief burial.

If the County assumes financial responsibility for the final disposition, it cannot exceed the County allowances. There cannot be any enhancements.

The standard disposition method for county burial is direct cremation. However, if deceased or next of kin prefers, immediate burial is a secondary available option.

Resources of the deceased, family and community will be considered in determining eligibility. This includes memorials and funds raised on behalf of the deceased. Those who do not have sufficient funds to pay for the burial can apply for assistance for the remaining costs providing Olmsted County standards have been used.

Authorization and approval of a county burial must be received prior to making funeral plans. The family/funeral home will be expected to work closely with county staff to ensure fair but cost-effective arrangements.

Eligibility must be determined by the County of Financial Responsibility. Extenuating or unusual circumstances not otherwise addressed specifically in this policy will be reviewed and approved amongst burial team members and management.

ALLOWANCES:

1. Direct Cremation. Maximum \$2158.

This includes local removal, care of remains, transfer of deceased to crematory, basic services of staff, authorization, crematory charge, and a nondecorative remains container. Excludes ceremony, visitation, and cemetery charges, however, may include a short time of remembrance/memorial. The County will not pay for enhancements such as, but not limited to, flowers, honorariums, music, processions, clothes, printed material, food, or other related items. The County does not pay for internment of ashes. Regional Medical Examiner's Office will waive the cremation fee for county burials within Olmsted County's jurisdiction. If family and/or friends choose to enhance or make substitutions, such as internment of cremains, they will be obligated to pay for the entire cost of the disposition.

2. Immediate Burial. Maximum \$2,900.

This includes local removal, care of remains, vault/grave box at invoice, transfer of deceased to funeral home, basic services of staff, authorization, basic casket, and transfer of deceased to local area cemetery. Excludes ceremony, visitation, and non-essential cemetery charges, however, may include a short time of remembrance/memorial. The County will not pay for enhancements or items such as, but not limited to, flowers, honorariums, music, processions, clothes, printed material, food, or other related items. If family and/or friends choose to enhance or make substitutions, such as a casket of their choice, they will be obligated to pay for the entire cost of the disposition.

3. Cemetery

Grave opening and closing are limited to Monday-Friday with adjustments permitted for winter months. Opening/closing costs are limited to 75% of the current cemetery rate.

Olmsted County utilizes pre-purchased burial plots at local cemeteries. The County does not pay for cemetery markers/headstone. Cemetery specifications for pre-purchased lots apply. Current county-purchased lots are flat markers only.

No enhancements are allowed. The County does not pay for decorative cremation containers. The County does not pay to transport deceased outside of Olmsted County for burial in another cemetery plot unless it would be cost-effective to do so.

Enforcement

Minnesota Statutes 261.035, Minnesota Statutes 149A.80, and Minnesota Statutes 256.935

History

September 2022 – No changes. Approved by Health, Housing & Human Services Committee.

September 2021 – Updated to reflect cremation as standard disposition method, made grammatical updates, described further the family obligations if enhancements or substitutions are chosen, pronounced that the cemetery may have specifications for the pre-purchased plots, updated maximum amounts, and updated for 508 compliance. Authored by Ruth Olson. Approved By Health, Housing and Human Services Senior Leadership Team

November 2018 – Updated to separate policy and procedural, move vault cost underneath the immediate burial amount rather than a separate line since burials always use a vault. Approved by Health, Housing, Human Services Senior Management Team

July 2014 – Minor administrative edits only. Approved by Olmsted County Community Services Senior Management Team

April and March 2009 – Updates made and approved by Human Services Committee County Board.

November 2005 – Updates made and approved by Olmsted County Community Services Senior Management Team