

Birth Certificate Request

DCN #:	Office Use Only					
Original Copy \$26 Additional Copies \$19						
Total	Employee Initial					

Use this form to order a birth certificate for a person born in Minnesota. If we cannot find the birth record you request, we will send you a certified Statement of No Birth Record Found. NOTE: County offices generally provide the fastest vital records service; in-person requests can often be fulfilled while you wait. It's illegal to give false information to obtain a vital record, and it may subject you to fines, jail time, or both. (Minnesota Statutes 144,227)

Child/subject first name	vital record, and it may subject you to fines, jail time, or both. (Minnesota Statutes 144.227)											
Parent one first name	Information to find the requested birth record Minnesota Rules 4601.2600											
Parent one first name	ubject	Child/subject first name			Child/subject middle name			Child	Child/subject last name			
Parent two first name	child/s	□ Fer			Minnesot	pirth		Minnesota county of birth		State of birth		
Requester full name Requester street address (Express delivery will not deliver to PO boxes or APO addresses.) REQUIRED — Mark the boxes that describe your relationship to the subject of the record Minnesota Statutes Mapt/Unit # Email City	nts	Parent one first name Parent or			dle name	one last name		Last name before 1st marriage		<u>:</u>		
Requester full name Date of birth (MM/DD/YYYY) Daytime phone (10-divided processes)	Pare	Parent two first name Parent two middle name Pa				Parent	two last name	e	Last name before 1 st marriage			
Requester street address (Express delivery will not deliver to PO boxes or APO addresses.) ReQUIRED — Mark the boxes that describe your relationship to the subject of the record Minnesota Statutes Marital status is important. Records of children born to married parents are "public". That means that the certificate is available to those listed in items 1— below. Records of children born to single mothers are "confidential" unless the mother chose to make the record public at the birth. Only the persons listed below in items 19—23 may obtain confidential birth certificates. "Public" birth records are available to individuals who meet any of the legal requirements in items 1-18 1. A parent named on the subject's record 2. A grandparent of the subject 3. A great grandparent of the subject 7. Spouse of the subject (You must be thecurrent spouse) 8. I am the subject; I am requesting my own birth record 9. The legal custodian, guardian, or conservator of the subject (we need a certified copy of the court order that names you) 10. The health care agent for the subject (we need a notarized statement that says you need the birth certificate to administer the subject's personal representative (we need a notarized statement that says you need the birth certificate to administer the subject (subject is dead) (we need a notarized statement that says you need the birth certificate to administer the subject (subject is dead) (we need a notarized statement that says you need the birth certificate to administer the subject (subject is dead) (we need a copy of your Employee ID) 15. Local/state/tribal or federal governmental agency (we need a copy of your Employee ID) 16. Attorney – I represent the subject, or a person listed in items 1-14 above. If you are a NON-Minnesota attorney, attactive the subject is dead (sopy of a U.S. court order (not a subpoena) releasing the certificate 17. Pursuant to a valid, certified copy of a U.S. court order (not a subpoena) releasing the certificate. "Confidential" birth records	REQ	UIRED – Requester inform	mation							Minnesota R	ules 4601.2600	
REQUIRED — Mark the boxes that describe your relationship to the subject of the record Minnesota Statutes Marital status is important. Records of children born to married parents are "public". That means that the certificate is available to those listed in items 1—below. Records of children born to single mothers are "confidential" unless the mother chose to make the record public at the birth. Only the persons listed below in items 19 – 23 may obtain confidential birth certificates. "Public" birth records are available to individuals who meet any of the legal requirements in items 1-18 1.	F	Requester full name					Date of birt	h (MN	/DD/YYYY) Daytime phone (10-digit)		e (10-digit)	
REQUIRED — Mark the boxes that describe your relationship to the subject of the record Minnesota Statutes Marital status is important. Records of children born to married parents are "public". That means that the certificate is available to those listed in items 1—below. Records of children born to single mothers are "confidential" unless the mother chose to make the record public at the birth. Only the persons listed below in items 19 – 23 may obtain confidential birth certificates. "Public" birth records are available to individuals who meet any of the legal requirements in items 1-18 1.	queste	·					Apt/Unit #		Email			
Marital status is important. Records of children born to married parents are "public". That means that the certificate is available to those listed in items 1—below. Records of children born to single mothers are "confidential" unless the mother chose to make the record public at the birth. Only the persons listed below in items 19—23 may obtain confidential birth certificates. "Public" birth records are available to individuals who meet any of the legal requirements in items 1-18 1. A parent named on the subject's record 2. A grandparent of the subject 3. A great grandparent of the subject 4. A child of the subject (You must be the current spouse) 7. Spouse of the subject (You must be the current spouse) 9. The legal custodian, guardian, or conservator of the subject (we need a certified copy of the court order that names you) 10. The health care agent for the subject (we need a valid "health care power of attorney" document) 11. Subject's personal representative (we need a notarized statement that says you need the birth certificate to administer the endal of the subject (subject is dead) (we need a notarized statement that says you need the birth certificate to administer the endal of the subject (subject is dead) (we need a notarized statement that says you need the birth certificate to administer the endal of the subject (subject is dead) (we need a notarized statement that says you need the birth certificate to administer the endal of the subject (subject is dead) (we need a copy of your Employee ID) 15. Local/state/tribal or federal governmental agency (we need a copy of your Employee ID) 16. Attorney – I represent the subject, or a person listed in items 1-14 above. If you are a NON-Minnesota attorney, attached the province of the subject of the record and it authorizes me to obtain the certificate. "Copy of your attorney license." 17. Pursuant to a valid, certified copy of a U.S. court order (not a subpoena) releasing the certificate. "Copy of your attorney license." 19. Parent named on the subjec	Rec						City			State	Zip code	
Records of children born to married parents are "public". That means that the certificate is available to those listed in items 1—below. Records of children born to single mothers are "confidential" unless the mother chose to make the record public at the birth. Only the persons listed below in items 19—23 may obtain confidential birth certificates. "Public" birth records are available to individuals who meet any of the legal requirements in items 1-18 1.	REQ	UIRED — Mark the boxes	that des	cribe	your relat	ionship	to the subje	ct of	the record	Minnesota St	atutes 144.225	
9. ☐ The legal custodian, guardian, or conservator of the subject (we need a certified copy of the court order that names you) 10. ☐ The health care agent for the subject (we need a valid "health care power of attorney" document) 11. ☐ Subject's personal representative (we need a notarized statement that says you need the birth certificate to administer the etalous Successor of the subject (subject is dead) (we need a notarized statement that says you need the birth certificate to administer the etalous Successor of the subject (subject is dead) (we need a notarized statement that says you need the birth certificate to administer the etalous Successor of the subject (subject is dead) (we need a notarized statement that says you need the birth certificate to administer the etalous Successor of the subject (subject is dead) (we need a copy of your Employee ID) (Best practice: wait for family to verify read administer that says you need the birth certificate (we need a copy of your Employee ID) (Best practice: wait for family to verify read attorney — I represent the subject, or a person listed in items 1-14 above. If you are a NON-Minnesota attorney, attack My Minnesota Attorney License Number is:	Records of children born to married parents are "public". That means that the certificate is available to those listed in items 1 – 18 below. Records of children born to single mothers are "confidential" unless the mother chose to make the record public at the time of birth. Only the persons listed below in items 19 – 23 may obtain confidential birth certificates. "Public" birth records are available to individuals who meet any of the legal requirements in items 1-18 1. A parent named on the subject's record 4. A child of the subject A grandchild of the subject C. A grandchild of the subject											
My Minnesota Attorney License Number is:copy of your attorney license. 17. □ Pursuant to a valid, certified copy of a U.S. court order (not a subpoena) releasing the certificate 18. □ I have a signed statement from a person above; it specifies the subject's full name, date of birth, parents' names, the sign relationship to the subject of the record and it authorizes me to obtain the certificate. "Confidential" birth records are available only under the conditions, or to the person, in items 19-23 19. □ Parent named on the subject's record 20. □ The legal custodian, guardian, or conservator of the subject (you need a certified copy of a court order naming you)	9. ☐ The legal custodian, guardian, or conservator of the subject (we need a certified copy of the court order that names you) 10. ☐ The health care agent for the subject (we need a valid "health care power of attorney" document) 11. ☐ Subject's personal representative (we need a notarized statement that says you need the birth certificate to administer the estate) 12. ☐ Successor of the subject (subject is dead) (we need a notarized statement that says you need the birth certificate to administer the estate) 13. ☐ Proof that you need a birth certificate for the determination or protection of a personal or property right 14. ☐ Adoption agency — to complete post-adoption search (we need a copy of your Employee ID) 15. ☐ Local/state/tribal or federal governmental agency (we need a copy of your Employee ID) (Best practice: wait for family to verify record)											
 17. □ Pursuant to a valid, certified copy of a U.S. court order (not a subpoena) releasing the certificate 18. □ I have a signed statement from a person above; it specifies the subject's full name, date of birth, parents' names, the sign relationship to the subject of the record and it authorizes me to obtain the certificate. "Confidential" birth records are available only under the conditions, or to the person, in items 19-23 19. □ Parent named on the subject's record 20. □ The legal custodian, guardian, or conservator of the subject (you need a certified copy of a court order naming you) 												
 19. □ Parent named on the subject's record 20. □ The legal custodian, guardian, or conservator of the subject (you need a certified copy of a court order naming you) 	 17. □ Pursuant to a valid, certified copy of a U.S. court order (not a subpoena) releasing the certificate 18. □ I have a signed statement from a person above; it specifies the subject's full name, date of birth, parents' names, the signer's relationship to the subject of the record and it authorizes me to obtain the certificate. 											
20. \square The legal custodian, guardian, or conservator of the subject (you need a certified copy of a court order naming you)												
 21. The subject, when 16 years old or older 22. Representatives of Minnesota programs that administer child support, medical assistance, MinnesotaCare, and services u Minnesota Statutes, sections 124D.23; Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260E; and, tribal child support programs, Minnesota Statutes, section 144.225, subdivision 2, paragraph (f). (we need a copy of your Employee ID) 23. Pursuant to a valid, certified copy of a U.S. court order (not a subpoena) releasing the certificate 												

Requester's name:									
REQUIRED – Sign this form in front of a notary public Minnesota Rules 4601.26									
I certify that the information provided on this application is correct and complete to the best of my knowledge.									
Requester's signature (Signature must match the name of the requester on page one.)									
							Notary Stamp/Seal		
Α.	Signed or attested before				, 20				
Notary	Printed name of notary p	public							
Z	Notary public signature	My commission	n expires						
	,, ,						_		
Fees	and records request					Fee			
First	birth certificate					\$26	\$26		
Addi	tional birth certificates			# of extra	a copies	\$19 eac	h		
Vete	ran's Affairs (VA) birth cer	tificate (for VA purposes only	·)	# of c	copies	\$0			
Proc	essing					Fee			
Stan	dard — request processed	I in the order received				\$0			
Fast	er — request handled ahea	ad of standard requests (does	n't ii	nclude e	xpress delivery)	\$20			
Ship	ping					Fee			
Regu	ılar first-class mail					\$0			
Express delivery (Check here \square to require a signature.)							0		
•	The Office of Vital Records	and the express delivery serv	ice a	are not r	esponsible for d	eliveries th	at do not require a		
	•	services will not deliver to PO				nyolono wi	th your application		
 For delivery outside the United States, you must supply a prepaid express delivery envelope with your application. Total due Fees are due with the application and are non-refundable. 									
		rees are due with the	e upp	piicution	runu ure non-rej	undubie.			
Payr	ment method	Cardholder name				Valid	thru		
□ Cı	redit card					(MN	(MM/YY)		
	lasterCard/VISA/Discover	Card number				3-digit			
(2	15% convenience fee) Check #		Make check or money order payable to Olmsted County.						
Check # Make check or money order p									
Money order#			result in a \$30 charge to you. You could also face civil						
Send your application and payment to:			penalties. Incomplete requests						
Olmsted County Vital Records Office									
Mail: 151 4th Street SE Rochester, MN 55904			Olmsted County Vital Records returns applications that are incomplete, not signed in front of a notary public, or not paid						
Fax : 507-328-7965(credit card payments only)			in full at the time of application. (Minnesota Statutes						
Tax. 507 520 7505(credit card payments offin)			144.226; Minnesota Rules 4601.2600)						
If you have questions , please contact us at vitals@olmstedcounty.gov or 507-328-7660.									