Educator's Statement

MS 517.08 Subd 1b (b) & (c)

The marriage license fee for parties who have completed at least 12 hours of premarital education is \$40. In order to qualify for the reduced license fee, the parties must submit at the time of applying for the marriage license a statement that is signed, dated, and <u>notarized</u> statement or <u>marked with a church seal</u>, from the person who provided the premarital education <u>on their letterhead</u> confirming that it was received. The premarital education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized to solemnize civil marriages under section or a person authorized to practice marriage and family therapy under section 148B.33. The education must include the use of a premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.

I.	confirm that
	(Printed Name of Educator)
(/	Applicant 1 Full Legal Name)
(/	Applicant 2 Full Legal Name)
received at least 12 hours of premarital education communication and conflict management skills.	n that included the use of a premarital inventory and the teaching of
I am: (Please check one)	
A licensed or ordained minister.	
A person authorized to solemnize civil	marriages under Minnesota Statutes, section 517.18.
A person licensed to practice marriage	and family therapy under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33.
The names of the parties in the educator's statement marriage license application.	must be identical do the legal names of the parties as they appear in the civil
	(Educator's Signature)
State of Minnesota County of	
This instrument was acknowledged before me or	
(Church or Notory Sool)	(Date) (Educator's printed name)
(Church or Notary Seal)	(Signature of Notarial Officer)
	My Commission Expires:

517.18 CIVIL MARRIAGE SOLEMNIZATION.

Subdivision 1.Friends or Quakers.

All civil marriages solemnized among the people called Friends or Quakers, in the form heretofore practiced and in use in their meetings, shall be valid and not affected by any of the foregoing provisions. The clerk of the meeting in which such civil marriage is solemnized, within one month after any such civil marriage, shall deliver a certificate of the same to the local registrar of the county where the civil marriage took place, under penalty of not more than \$100. Such certificate shall be filed and recorded by the court administrator under a like penalty. If such civil marriage does not take place in such meeting, such certificate shall be signed by the parties and at least six witnesses present, and shall be filed and recorded as above provided under a like penalty.

Subd. 2.Baha'i.

Civil marriages may be solemnized among members of the Baha'i faith by the chair of an incorporated local Spiritual Assembly of the Baha'is, according to the form and usage of such society.

Subd. 3. Hindus; Muslims.

Civil marriages may be solemnized among Hindus or Muslims by the person chosen by a local Hindu or Muslim association, according to the form and usage of their respective religions.

Subd. 4. American Indians.

Civil marriages may be solemnized among American Indians according to the form and usage of their religion by an Indian Mide' or holy person chosen by the parties to the civil marriage.

Subd. 5. Construction of section.

Nothing in subdivisions 2 to 4 shall be construed to alter the requirements of section 517.01, 517.09 or 517.10.

148B.33 REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE.

Subdivision 1.Documentary evidence of qualifications.

An applicant for a license shall furnish evidence that the applicant:

- (1) has attained the age of majority;
- (2) is of good moral character;
- (3) is a citizen of the United States, or is lawfully entitled to remain and work in the United States;
- (4) has at least two years of supervised postgraduate experience in marriage and family therapy satisfactory to the board;
- (5)(i) has completed a master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy from a program in a regionally accredited educational institution or from a program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education of the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy; or (ii) has completed a master's or doctoral degree from a regionally accredited educational institution in a related field for which the course work is considered by the board to be equivalent to that provided in clause (5)(i);
- (6) will agree to conduct all professional activities as a licensed marriage and family therapist in accordance with a code of ethics for marriage and family therapists to be adopted by the board; and
- (7) has passed an examination approved by the board by rule.