Owning a mobile home can be more cost-effective than owning traditional real estate, however, there are some significant differences in ownership of these types of property. For example, a mobile home is not considered real estate but is considered to be personal property even though it is equally considered a dwelling as a traditional home would be. This document contains information that will be very useful to every current and potential mobile homeowner.
View the Manufacture Home Information form below.
Facts for Buying or Selling a Manufactured Home
- You must notify the assessor and treasurer in the county that the home is presently located.
- The county treasurer/assessor will issue a certificate of taxes paid which serves as the moving permit when a titled manufactured home moves on county roads.
- If the move is on state highways, you must obtain an excess size transport permit from the Department of Transportation.
Moves within Olmsted County
When a titled manufactured home moves within the county, the taxes are due and payable the following July.
Moves between Minnesota Counties
When a titled manufactured home is moved to another county, upon notification to the treasurer, the taxes for the entire year become due and payable along with any delinquent taxes owed to the county where the home was located on January 1.
Leaving the State
When a titled manufactured home moves to another state, upon notification to the treasurer, all the taxes must be paid for the entire year due and payable along with any delinquent taxes owed to the county where the home was located on January 1.
The Seller Must
- Be sure that all property taxes are paid on the titled manufactured home. Any agreements to pay taxes between buyer and seller are the responsibility of the current titled owner.
Note: When title is submitted to the Department of Motor Vehicles for recording a new owner’s name, by law it must be accompanied by a “Certificate of Taxes Paid” issued by the county treasurer or assessor. This form shows whether any property taxes have been paid on the titled manufactured home.
- Provide the buyer with a certificate of title that has been signed by the seller.
- Buyer Beware! Don’t get stuck paying the seller’s taxes! It is recommended that seller provide buyers with a certificate of taxes paid from the County Property Records Office PRIOR to completing the purchase of the mobile home.
The Buyer Must
- Apply for a new title with the Minnesota motor vehicle division within 45 days of the sale of the new titled manufactured home or within 30 days of the sale of a used titled manufactured home.
- Have a certificate of taxes paid (see Note under seller)
- File the application for title in the same county where the titled manufactured home is located. (example: if the title manufactured home is located in Olmsted County, you must apply for the title within Olmsted County)
- Notify the county assessor within 20 days (in the county where the titled manufactured home is located) that you are the new owner.
- Fill out the homestead packet and return it to the county assessor by May 29. (These packets can be obtained at your local county assessment service office or your mobile home park office.
Make sure manufactured homes are titled in your name through any of the Department of Motor Vehicles offices:
- Crossroads Office: 507-282-1411
- License Center Rochester: 507-281-4746
- Airport License Center: 507-289-0994
Receive and complete the homestead packet by May 29. The packets are available through your local assessor’s office or the office of the mobile home park the manufactured home is located in.
Note: A copy of the title showing the manufactured home is in your name or a copy of the contract will need to be submitted with this packet in order to receive homestead.
Carefully review tax statements. These should be received around the second week of July with the first half being due on August 31. If more than $50 in taxes is owing, the second half will be due on November 15.
Notify the County assessor and treasurer of any changes in the mailing address of the manufactured home.
Can manufactured homes receive the homestead?
Yes. The owner/occupant must apply, and meet the homestead requirements.
How do I apply for the homestead exemption?
You can apply for the homestead status at the Olmsted County Government Center located at 151 4th St SE, Rochester, MN
Do I need to bring anything with me when I apply?
Yes, you will need your driver's license showing your manufactured home as your primary residence and a copy of the current title in your name.
When is the cutoff date to apply for homestead?
May 29 is the last day for owners of manufactured homes assessed as personal property to establish their homestead and to apply for homestead treatment with the county assessor.
How do I transfer the title?
You will need to stop into our office and clarify that all current and back taxes are paid. When we verify that all back and current taxes are paid, we will issue you a title transfer document that you will need to take to the license bureau to have the title transferred.
Note: The license bureau will NOT transfer the title without this document.
When are my taxes due?
August 31 is the last day to pay the first half (or all if $50 or less) of personal property taxes on manufactured homes without penalty.
November 15 is the last day to pay second half real estate taxes on manufactured housing without penalty.